1982 IBMXF European Championships, Beek en Donk Holland


The first Official IBMXF European Championships were held in 1982 in Beek en Donk, Holland, with over 90 British riders making the trip. It marked the first time our riders won a major International title outside the UK, with Tony Slater and Ben Swift both becoming European Champions in their respective classes.

Other notable British standouts included 2nd places for Andy Oldham, Jason Maloney, Jason Scott Webb and Andy Ruffell; and 3rd places for Russ Swift and Darren Page (RIP).

Another first for the event and for most British riders were the experience on an electric start gate with traffic lights, something that still had not been introduced yet back home at the Nationals.

British World Champions in both IBMXF and FIAC between (1983-1993)

Louis Mears became GB’s first official World Champion winning the 1983 IBMXF World Championships in Slagharen, Holland which is the starting point of our timeline of GB World Champions over the years.  Below are all of the British World Champions in both IBMXF and FIAC between (1983-1993) which we will post and document on this website here.

IBMXF World Champions 

Louis Mears

Mark Watkins
David Maw

Craig Schofield
David Maw

Ross Thompson
David Maw
Andy Welsh
John Johns
Luli Adeyemo
Sarah-Jane Nichols

Ross Thompson
John Johns

Chris Hyde
Nick Lacey

Dylan Clayton

Dylan Clayton ( 20 inch and Cruiser)
Pete Dymott

Special Recognition 
Joe Eastwood
3 x 2nd place World Championships (1986,1987,1988)

FIAC World Champions 

Ben Cater
Lee Seymore
Claire Buckinger

Shauna Godber
Lisa Wright
Kerrie J Hopkins
Gary O’Brien
Tony Gilham
Daniel Worthington
Phil Shirtliff
Pete Dymott
Stacey Iddon

1987 NBMXA National Champions

Ticket Tour Darren O’Neill

17+ Kim Carbutt, 16s Sean Field, 15s Dale Holmes, 14s Paul Jones, 13s Chris Bennett, 12s Steven Pursey, 11s Gary Bowman, 10s Nicholas Gill, 9s David Maw, 8s Gareth Blades, 7s Jonathan Clark, 6s Andy Weatherhogg, 5s Phil Shirtliff

35+ Cruiser John Johns, 25/34 Cruiser Alec Scott, 16+ Cruiser Darren O’Neill, 14/15 Cruiser Dale Holmes, 13 & Under Cruiser Tony Baldwin

15+ Girls Luli Adeyemo, 14s Girls Lisa Wright, 13s Girls Claire Edwards, 12s Girls Lynsey Smale, 11 Girls Nicola Sharpe, 10 Girls Jamie-Ann Tweedie, 9 Girls Jane Hibbert, 8 Girls Karen Johnson, 7 Girls Jodie Greenaway, 6 Girls Hayley Theaker

CV – Damon Parkinson


Bay Motors, Coastline BMX, Reebok, Torker, Thruster/GeeTee signs

Years Racing
1984 – 1990

Stu Diggins, Steve Greaves, Tim Print, Kim Carbutt, Nigel Ramsden, Anthony Meleady, Simon Nuttall, Darren Wood

Pro – Andy Ruffell, Tim March, Geth Shooter, Tony Holland, Paul Gray, (RIP) Mark Watkins

Best Results
Regional no 1s, Pontins Open 1st,  Pro National 3

Best win first ever National at Slough (86) when Darren Wood slipped his pedals on the last straight.

IBMXF World Championships 1987 – 1988 – 1989

1987 IBMXF World Championships Orlando,Florida USA

Over 200 British riders making the trip to Florida. British Winners:

7x Ross Thompson
40 & Over Cruiser John Johns

1988 IBMXF World Championships Santiago, Chile

With a very small British contingent making the trip to Chile our best result came from Zeronine’s Joe Eastwood placing 2nd to go along with his 2nd place finishes in 86 and 87.

1989 IBMXF World Championships Brisbane, Australia

Like the previous year, in light of both cost and location only a handful of British riders made the trip. Lisa Wright was our only finalists.

Luli Adeyemo – 1986 IBMXF World Champion

Luli Adeyemo is perhaps another UK rider from the mid 80s and early 90s who is not talked about much that definitely knocked-out some big results during her time racing. Luli was a Newark East Midlands local that became World Champion in 1986 at the Slough Worlds, was National and British Champion numerous times battling with the likes of Lisa Wright riding for Axo, Scorpion & Profile during the peak of her racing.

Luli almost became European Champion in 1988 in Slagharen – just missing out – and also won the ABA Race of Champions at the Grands in 89 in the US. On top of that, she had a great personality, smiling and last we’ve heard, she’s living down under in Australia and if we’re correct we seem to remember her brother was a dancer on Top of the Pops!

PC: Steve Bardens / Invert

The 1986 IBMXF World Championships in Slough, England.

Even by 1986, the UK had already hosted many successful events. The Halfords Anglo American at Redditch, The 83 and 84 European Championships at Birmingham Wheels, the 84 and 85 Kelloggs and a handful of International and other major events but nothing on the scale of the 86 Slough Worlds.

There’s so much to touch on with this event that clearly cannot be jammed into one post. The Pro drama alone is a fully-heated story in and of itself so we will leave that for another day.  It was a huge success for the UKBMX organization and for our riders that stepped it up once again on the World stage and we walked away with 6 World Champions.

World Champions

6 & Under Ross Thompson

9s David Maw

15s Andy Welsh

40+ Cruiser John Johns

14/15 Girls Luli Adeyemo

16 + Girls Sarah-Jane Nichols